Testing Windows Live Writer

The new Windows Live Writer tool that Microsoft released this weekend looks promising. I read about it this evening on Mike Torres’ blog and decided to download it and give it a try – in fact I’m using it now to write this post. So far I’m really liking it and will probably start using it for all my posts for both this blog as well as a personal/family blog I have on Windows Live Spaces. I’ve used tools like this before, such as w.Bloggar, a tool written by Robert McLaws called VisualBlogger and even the new blogging feature that’s built into Word 2007, and all have been really quite helpful. I’ll give this one a try and see how well it works.

One thing that I’m really excited about is the API possibilities that Mike Torres talked about, including the ability to have a plugin that enables drag & drop adding of photos stored on Flickr. Whenever I include Flickr pictures like that now, it usually involves a lot of hand-coded HTML in order to get it to show up the way I want it. I hope that plug-in gets written pretty soon. In the meantime, I’ll keep using the tool and see how well it works – I’m thinking it just might save me a bunch of time & frustration.

Leave a Reply

